Abu Dhabi International Airport

Explore this ultramodern yet culturally rich destination
Passenger Guide

All you need to know about your airport experience

My Flight

open

About Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi (meaning in Arabic “Father of the gazelle”) is the capital city and the largest of the seven Emirates making up the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Abu Dhabi is the seat of the Federal Government and is the country's political and industrial hub as well as being a major historical and cultural centre. It is a city of contrasts. You'll find the domes and minarets of traditional mosques nestled beside ultramodern skyscrapers, chic five-star hotels near vibrant traditional souks (markets) and futuristic tourist attractions neighbouring kilometres of rolling desert dunes.

Economy

Covering around 87 per cent of the UAE's total land area, Abu Dhabi possesses 94 per cent of the country's oil reserves and, as the world's fourth largest oil producer, contributes 10% of the world's oil. An initiative aimed at diversifying its economy has evolved Abu Dhabi into a magnet of foreign investment. It is now a cosmopolitan city boasting one of the highest per capita incomes and one of the lowest crime rates in the world.

Population

The UAE's population has grown to over 9 million, as strong economic growth has attracted a workforce from all over the world. The population of Emiratis is just over one million. According to the Abu Dhabi statistics center, Abu Dhabi's population is over 2.5 million, with around 20% being UAE Nationals.

Religion

Islam is the official religion of the UAE. However, other religions are respected and are diversely represented.

Language

The official language of the UAE is Arabic, but English is widely spoken and understood, with both languages being commonly used in business and commerce.

Heritage and Tradition

The city's progressive vision is tempered by a deep-seated respect for traditions and culture. The artefacts and tools of its early inhabitants, pearl divers, fishermen and dhow builders, are carefully preserved and displayed. The Bedouin way of life is especially honored.

Climate

Between November and March a moderate, warm climate prevails during the day at an average temperature of 26°C, with cooler evening temperatures averaging 15°C. Humidity levels rise significantly in the summer months, between June and August.

UAE Currency

The monetary unit is the 'dirham' (AED) which is divided into 100 fils. The Dirham is tied to the US Dollar at a steady exchange rate of $US 1= AED 3.671.

Useful tips

Photography

While it is quite acceptable to take photographs, it is considered offensive to photograph Muslim women. It is also courteous to ask permission before photographing men. Avoid taking photographs of government or military buildings.

Clothing

Abu Dhabi is generally conservative but tolerant when it comes to dress code. The attitude to dress is relaxed, but visitors (both men and women) are advised not to wear excessively revealing clothing in public places, as a sign of respect for local culture and customs.

Want to know more?

Find out more about what to see & do, where to stay & eat, and what’s new in Abu Dhabi on www.visitabudhabi.ae – the emirate’s official destination website.

Tourism Development & Investment Company (TDIC) is a master developer of major tourism destinations in Abu Dhabi. Visit their site to read about the plans for Abu Dhabi's development.

مطار أبوظبي الدولي

اكتشف هذه الوجهة الحديثة جداً، والغنية بثقافتها وحضارتها
دليل المسافر

كل ما تريد معرفته عن تجربتك داخل المطار

رحلتي

افتح

عن أبوظبي

أبوظبي (معناها باللغة العربية "والد الغزال") هي العاصمة وأكبر الإمارات السبع التي تشكل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

إمارة أبوظبي هي مقر الحكومة الاتحادية والمحور السياسي والصناعي للبلاد، فضلاً عن كونها مركزاً تاريخياً وثقافياً رئيسياً. إنها مدينة متعددة الأوجه، حيث ستجد قباب ومآذن المساجد التقليدية تجاور ناطحات السحاب العصرية، وفنادق الخمسة نجوم الأنيقة بالقرب من الأسواق التقليدية المفعمة بالنشاط. كما أن هناك العديد من مناطق الجذب السياحي الحديثة بجوار كيلومترات من الكثبان الرملية الصحراوية.

الاقتصاد

تمتد إمارة أبوظبي على ما يقارب 87 بالمائة من إجمالي مساحة أراضي دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتمتلك أبوظبي 94 بالمائة من احتياطيات النفط في البلاد. وباعتبارها رابع أكبر منتج للنفط في العالم، فهي تساهم بـ10 بالمئة من النفط العالمي. وقد ساهمت المبادرة التي تم تطويرها بهدف تنويع اقتصاد أبوظبي في تحولها لتكون محور جذب للاستثمار الأجنبي. وتعتبر أبوظبي الآن مدينة عالمية تتمتع بأحد أعلى معدلات دخل الفرد وأدنى معدلات الجريمة في العالم.

السكان

تنامى عدد سكان دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بشكل ملحوظ في منتصف عام 2010 ليبلغ 8.26 مليون نسمة، بنسبة نمو بلغت 65 بالمئة خلال أربع سنوات فقط، وذلك على ضوء النمو الاقتصادي القوي الذي شهدته الدولة، الذي نتج عنه جذب القوى العاملة من جميع أنحاء العالم. ويبلغ عدد المواطنين الإماراتيين قرابة المليون شخص. ويقطن إمارة أبوظبي أكبر عدد منهم (42 في المائة).

الدين

الإسلام هو الدين الرسمي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ومع ذلك، يتم احترام الأديان الأخرى المتنوعة في الدولة.

اللغة

اللغة الرسمية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي اللغة العربية، لكن اللغة الانجليزية متداولة ومفهومة على نطاق واسع، ويتم استخدام كلتا اللغتين في مجال الأعمال والتجارة.

التراث والتقاليد

تمتزج حدة الرؤية التقدمية للمدينة بالكثير من الاحترام المعمق للتقاليد والثقافة. فالمصنوعات اليدوية والأدوات التي كان يستخدمها السكان الأوائل، وكذلك غواصي اللؤلؤ وصيادي السمك، وبناء قوارب "الداو"، كلها من الأمور التي تنال حظاً وافراً من العناية والحفظ والعرض حتى يومنا الحالي. وفي مقدمة ما يحرص الشعب الإماراتي على تكريمه بشكل خاص، الطريقة البدوية في الحياة.

الطقس

الطقس معتدل بين شهري نوفمبر ومارس، ويسود المناخ الحار خلال النهار، بحيث يكون متوسط درجة الحرارة 26 درجة مئوية، مع درجات حرارة أكثر برودة في المساء بمعدل 15 درجة مئوية. وترتفع مستويات الرطوبة بشكل كبير في أشهر الصيف، بين شهري يونيو وأغسطس.

عملة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

الوحدة النقدية هي 'الدرهم' (درهم إماراتي) الذي ينقسم إلى 100 فلس. ويرتبط الدرهم بالدولار الأميركي بمعدل سعر صرف ثابت هو 3،671 درهم لكل 1 دولار أمريكي.

نصائح مفيدة

التصوير

في حين أنه من المقبول تماماً التقاط صور فوتوغرافية، يجب الانتباه إلى أن تصوير المرأة المسلمة يعتبر إساءة. كما أنه من اللباقة أن تطلب الإذن قبل الشروع في تصوير الرجال. ويجب تجنب التقاط صور المباني الحكومية أو العسكرية.

اللباس

إمارة أبوظبي ذات طابع محافظ عموماً، ولكنها متسامحة حيال اللباس. والموقف من اللباس يتسم بالمرونة، لكن ينصح الزوار (الرجال والنساء) بعدم الإفراط بارتداء ملابس كاشفة في الأماكن العامة، كدليل على احترامهم للثقافة والعادات المحلية.

هل ترغب بمعرفة المزيد عن أبوظبي

للتعرف عن المزيد عن ما يمكن أن تراه وتفعله في أبوظبي، وعن أماكن للإقامة والأكل وكل ما هو جديد في أبوظبي قم بزيارة  www.visitabudhabi.ae – الموقع الرسمي لوجهة إمارة أبوظبي

شركة التطوير والاستثمار السياحي هي المطور الرئيسي للوجهات السياحية الرئيسية في أبوظبي. قم بزيارة موقع الشركة لتقرأ عن خطط التنمية والتطوير المذهلة في أبوظبي.